Final Project Preparation: Demo Shoot – Daniel Booker

For our final project we were issued with the brief describing the power of a single image; what it conveys, evokes and the way we respond to it. Looking at sequencing of images, sounds and narratives that have been done by past photographers such as Chris Markers etc in order to understand the movement and possible concepts that can be achieved in this final project.
The use of a still image in film is a very memorable experience for the viewer. It is not a common occurrence but we remember the way in which the image is constructed into the story and its reasoning for its position.
Our brief is simple, we have to produce a 2-4 minute still based film; comprised completely of stills images, have a understandable narrative and a use of sound.
Having time to think about the brief was very helpful. It let me look at the possibilities and range in which I can and could produce. I feel I am very new to the art, still learning after each shoot and understanding much more to the previous.
I did struggle for ideas at first. I have always been interested in portraits; displaying and capturing an emotion, a time and scenario from a person. But I felt that my previous projects have displayed various ways in doing so and looking at other peoples work for ideas might be seen as ‘copying’ or using their influence ‘too much’ in which I struggle to create my own perspective.
But after looking at Murray Close and his work in Cuba, I could see and feel a sense of emotion in which can be captured by using younger generations. His boxing photos instantly appealed to me. But I felt they could be so much more, there could be so much British interpretation and representations evidence in this possible project. Then after brainstorming and thinking of ideas, I started to look at pasts texts that share a similar theme.
‘The Raging Bull’ film in which is shot in black and white was again a big influence. De Niro is seen boxing on his own in the ring at the very start, a slow motion piece of footage that leaks very little about the man, but so much about his character, his beliefs, his life and his choices. Then as soon as the idea was reached I knew I was focused enough with it to produce.
My idea was young men in the ring. Showing a similar representation to Close but setting it in modern Britain, conveying all the representations of youth and fighting into a still image, produced into a movie through boxing. I wanted to show children behaving and fighting much older than they are, but achieving the representations of the youth culture in which surrounds our country today. There was so much potential and ideas being displayed through my mind, I had to proceed and start capturing.
After getting permission to shoot at the local boxing club, I immediately felt my skills being challenged. Never before have I taken photos that desired such speed and precise measurement, and I struggled. I struggled in the balance of the photo. Having a shutter speed so fast to capture the pace of the boxers, but enough to receive light into the image.
The overall process was a success though, it brought me to reality on what and how the piece could be structured.
The images I feel capture ‘place’, in black and white the produce that ‘boxer’ feel to them. Many photos of boxers are black and white, it’s a stereotype. The photos of objects look quite old to me due to this. They seem to offer a history to the image, which is a strong contrast to the boxers. They are young, modern and people of today. They provide of time. Having these characters of today in a ‘potential’ old environment. These photos are some of the higher quality photos in which I captured. It was a great experience for me. It gave me time for thought, learning and planning after. Having the experience in shooting this demo made me realise of what I need to change in order to succeed. Although the photos have come out well, they are not exactly what I wanted. I wanted to produce a quick sequence of photographs that ran emotion and I feel that these are very ‘still’ images, capturing one time. But by this experience I can adjust my camera skills, learn how to capture my intentions next time for the final shoot but by also having the privilege to adapt to the environment where I will be setting my story.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment