Soundscape: Issue 2 – England Vs Egypt Goal – Daniel Booker

After attending the recent national football game at Wembley, I have produced a second soundscape.

The image is a scene at Wembley Stadium, where England beat Egypt 3-1 in a friendly on March 3rd. My seat was right behind the goal, which allowed me to record and capture this photo and the diagetic sound to match.

Combined with the live commentary from television, my piece expresses the difference in atmosphere from the television to being at the game. The diagetic sound is heard with passion and love breaking through the voices of the English fans, a roar of ecstatic emotion. In contrast the television commentary is more negative, concentrating on the issue with the goal rather than joining in with the wild and fanatic celebrations in which occurred within the stadium.

The image itself is deliberately designed to be manipulated as a fans perspective, conveying what being involved in this moment means to them.

Although I am really proud of the Starbucks soundscpae, I still want to show this one. I believe the location is a total contrast and this is also replicated through the sound of the roaring crowd within the stadium. Giving me two soundscapes that contrast each other but also convey their images perfectly in my view.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment